Intensive Vocab Register  |  Sign In  |  Help  
Spacer Left Menu Border Right Menu Border Left Menu Border Right Menu Border Left Menu Border Right Menu Border  
 

Word Of The Day Archives - May 2008

Thursday, May 1, 2008

nirvana (n)  paradise
Sentence:  Setting foot on the top of Mount Everest, I felt I had reached nirvana.
Similar Words:  utopia

Friday, May 2, 2008

ancillary (adj)  not primary
Sentence:  I understand your ancillary concerns, but what is your main issue?
Similar Words:  peripheral, marginal

Saturday, May 3, 2008

agile (adj)  quick, nimble
agility
Sentence:  The prisoner's agile mind belied his criminal past.
Similar Words:  athletic, dexterous

Sunday, May 4, 2008

fraught (adj)  laden
Sentence:  The raft trip through the rapids was fraught with danger.
Similar Words:  replete, abounding

Monday, May 5, 2008

frenetic (adj)  frantic
Sentence:  The frenetic car chase through the streets of Boston was shown on live television.
Similar Words:  frenzied, fanatical

Tuesday, May 6, 2008

trepidation (n)  fear, hesitation
Sentence:  I arrived at the mouth of the unexplored cave with more than a little trepidation.
Similar Words:  perturbation, agitation

Wednesday, May 7, 2008

crepuscular (adj)  like twilight
Sentence:  In the crepuscular light, we all had a yellowish glow
Similar Words:  dim, indistinct

Thursday, May 8, 2008

jeopardy (n)  risk
jeopardize
Sentence:  If you don't wear a seat belt when driving, you are putting your life in jeopardy.
Similar Words:  peril, danger

Friday, May 9, 2008

cantankerous (adj)  irritable, cranky
cantankerousness
Sentence:  My cantankerous landlord had few friends among the tenants.
Similar Words:  ornery, crotchety

Saturday, May 10, 2008

awry (adj)  gone wrong
Sentence:  The rescue plans went awry when the car battery died.
Similar Words:  amiss

Sunday, May 11, 2008

pellucid (adj)  clear, transparent
pellicidity
Sentence:  My sister's prose was as pellucid as my prose was confused.
Similar Words:  limpid

Monday, May 12, 2008

debase (v)  reduce in quality
debasement
Sentence:  The report unfairly debased the old scientist's research.
Similar Words:  adulterate, degrade, corrupt

Tuesday, May 13, 2008

abhor (v)  detest
abhorrent
Sentence:  Although he was a decorated veteran, my father always abhorred war.
Similar Words:  hate, loathe, abominate

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

victuals (n)  food
Sentence:  One of the most difficult parts of backpacking is planning for nutritious but light-weight victuals.
Similar Words:  comestibles

Thursday, May 15, 2008

impending (adj)  at hand
impend
Sentence:  Since we are facing impending sanctions from the judge, we must act immediately.
Similar Words:  imminent

Friday, May 16, 2008

ostensible (adj)  seeming
ostensibility
Sentence:  The ostensible restrictiveness of the new regulations proved to be nothing more than a fig leaf.
Similar Words:  apparent

Saturday, May 17, 2008

plagiarism (n)  copying another's work
plagiarize; plagiarist
Sentence:  To avoid accusations of plagiarism, scholars must be careful to give credit to borrowed sources.

Sunday, May 18, 2008

stigma (n)  mark of shame reproach
stigmatize
Sentence:  I suffered a stigma for many year's because of my father's criminal past.
Similar Words:  taint, stain

Monday, May 19, 2008

dilatory (adj)  delaying
dilatoriness
Sentence:  Enough of the dilatory tactics! Make a decision.
Similar Words:  laggard

Tuesday, May 20, 2008

retribution (n)  vengeance
Sentence:  Do you believe in divine retribution for sins committed by mankind?
Similar Words:  revenge, reprisal

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

grandiloquent (adj)  using pompous speech
grandiloquence
Sentence:  Your grandiloquence and your feigned British accent are making you look arrogant to your friends.
Similar Words:  bombastic, overblown

Thursday, May 22, 2008

incumbent (n)  holder of office
incumbency
Sentence:  The incumbent politician is going to be tough to defeat.

Friday, May 23, 2008

heterogeneous (adj)  not uniform
heterogeneousness
Sentence:  Our heterogeneous golf team had players of every size, shape, and temperament.
Similar Words:  disparate, dissimilar

Saturday, May 24, 2008

eulogy (n)  speech of praise at funeral
eulogize
Sentence:  The late mayor's former business partner delivered a stirring eulogy at the funeral.

Sunday, May 25, 2008

explicate (v)  explain
explication
Sentence:  Can you explicate Einstein's theory of relativity?
Similar Words:  elucidate

Monday, May 26, 2008

ruse (n)  deception
Sentence:  Was your request serious, or was it just a ruse?
Similar Words:  artifice, wile, stratagem, chicanery

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

blithe (adj)  unconcerned, cheerful
blitheness
Sentence:  The na?ve father blithely ignored his son's serious troubles.
Similar Words:  carefree, sprightly

Wednesday, May 28, 2008

indifferent (adj)  having no interest
indifference
Sentence:  Why are you indifferent to your brother's problem?
Similar Words:  apathetic

Thursday, May 29, 2008

relapse (v)  slide back to a former state
Sentence:  After a brief recovery from cancer, my grandfather suffered a relapse.
Similar Words:  regress, backslide

Friday, May 30, 2008

bungle (v)  botch
Sentence:  The task was tailor-made for the recent graduate, but still he bungled it.
Similar Words:  blunder, mishandle

Saturday, May 31, 2008

abscond (v)  go into hiding
Sentence:  The robber absconded to the mountains to avoid the authorities.
Similar Words:  flee

Return to Today's Word of the Day Page
Intensive Vocab™ is a revolutionary online program that enables you to learn 2400 vocabulary words through fully interactive and customizable quizzes.... the most effective vocabulary builder yet.  Intensive Vocab™ is fun, easy and free!

About Us   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Advertise © 2007 Intensive Vocab LLC. All Rights Reserved.