Intensive Vocab Register  |  Sign In  |  Help  
Spacer Home Left Menu Border Home Right Menu Border Vocab Start Page Left Menu Border Vocab Start Page Right Menu Border Word Of The Day Left Menu Border Word Of The Day Right Menu Border  
 

Word Of The Day Archives - May 2007

Tuesday, May 1, 2007

touchstone (n)  basis for comparison
Sentence:  John was the touchstone by which I measured all other scholars.
Similar Words:  criterion

Wednesday, May 2, 2007

pedantic (adj)  intended to teach
pedant, pedantry
Sentence:  Please don't be pedantic; if I need someone to teach me, I will let you know.
Similar Words:  didactic

Thursday, May 3, 2007

impassive (adj)  without emotion
impassiveness
Sentence:  I made an impassive plea for support to the unsympathetic board of directors.
Similar Words:  stolid

Friday, May 4, 2007

complacent (adj)  self-satisfied
complacency
Sentence:  Complacent, the town utterly failed to prepare for the inevitable hurricane.
Similar Words:  conceited, smug

Saturday, May 5, 2007

spurious (adj)  bogus
spuriousness
Sentence:  The con man made a spurious claim to the gold.
Similar Words:  specious

Sunday, May 6, 2007

avocation (n)  occupation; hobby
Sentence:  Firefighting is my job; rock-climbing is my avocation.
Similar Words:  calling, profession

Monday, May 7, 2007

ingrained (adj)  firmly fixed
Sentence:  Frugality is unshakably ingrained in most children of the Great Depression.
Similar Words:  inveterate

Tuesday, May 8, 2007

overture (n)  opening, introduction
Sentence:  President Nixon made an overture to China and ushered in a new era in U.S. foreign policy.
Similar Words:  proposal

Wednesday, May 9, 2007

antipathy (n)  distaste
antipathetic
Sentence:  Raised in a strictly religious household, Joe had a strong antipathy toward atheists.
Similar Words:  abhorrence, aversion

Thursday, May 10, 2007

legerdemain (n)  magic
Sentence:  Through what legerdemain did you acquire those strong muscles?
Similar Words:  deception, trickery

Friday, May 11, 2007

warranted (adj)  deserved
Sentence:  Was the glowing book review warranted, or was the reviewer being less than candid?
Similar Words:  merited

Saturday, May 12, 2007

plaintive (adj)  expressing sorrow
plaintiveness
Sentence:  The deposed leader's plaintive advice for the country moved his followers to tears.
Similar Words:  mournful, melancholy

Sunday, May 13, 2007

distraught (adj)  worried
Sentence:  Distraught over his child's sickness, the young mother could neither work nor sleep.
Similar Words:  agitated, overwrought

Monday, May 14, 2007

welter (v)  tumble about, wallow
Sentence:  After the boat capsized, all the passengers weltered in the heavy surf.
Similar Words:  roll, heave

Tuesday, May 15, 2007

friable (adj)  crumbly
friableness
Sentence:  The friable insulation on the old wires was the cause of many short circuits in my house.
Similar Words:  deteriorated, powdery

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

hedonistic (adj)  pleasure-seeking
hedonism
Sentence:  Self-sacrifice and self-denial were unknown to my hedonistic brother.
Similar Words:  sybaritic, libertine

Thursday, May 17, 2007

veritable (adj)  genuine
veritableness
Sentence:  My uncle in Kentucky was a veritable Daniel Boone.
Similar Words:  utter

Friday, May 18, 2007

inimitable (adj)  not subject to imitation
inimitability
Sentence:  The inimitable Robin Williams will be visiting our campus this fall.
Similar Words:  matchless

Saturday, May 19, 2007

ferment (n)  state of agitation
fermentation
Sentence:  The whole town was in ferment with news of the villain's escape.
Similar Words:  unrest

Sunday, May 20, 2007

auditory (adj)  relating to hearing
Sentence:  The expensive stereo is supposed to have superior auditory qualities, but no one can really tell.

Monday, May 21, 2007

olfactory (adj)  relating to the sense of smell
Sentence:  My brother's sensitive olfactory cells could detect onions from two rooms away.

Tuesday, May 22, 2007

facile (adj)  adept
facileness
Sentence:  My teacher had a facile mind for delivering witty remarks on almost any subject at the spur of the moment.
Similar Words:  adroit, effortless, fluent

Wednesday, May 23, 2007

nadir (n)  lowest point
Sentence:  The nadir of my career was getting fired from my first job at age 27.
Similar Words:  bottom

Thursday, May 24, 2007

protean (adj)  versatile
Sentence:  The singer-entertainer was a man of protean talents.
Similar Words:  multifaceted

Friday, May 25, 2007

guile (n)  skillful deceit
Sentence:  The little boy's guile was cute only at first; soon we learned that we could not trust him.
Similar Words:  cunning

Saturday, May 26, 2007

decimate (v)  wipe out
decimation
Sentence:  The plague decimated Europe in the Middle Ages.
Similar Words:  eradicate

Sunday, May 27, 2007

apparition (n)  ghost
Sentence:  The actor was made to appear as an apparition floating across the stage.
Similar Words:  phantom

Monday, May 28, 2007

milieu (n)  surroundings
Sentence:  What was the milieu of the house in which you grew up?
Similar Words:  environment

Tuesday, May 29, 2007

clamor (n)  continuous noisiness
clamorous
Sentence:  A clamor in the streets of Pamplona foretold the running of the bulls.
Similar Words:  tumult, racket

Wednesday, May 30, 2007

limpid (adj)  clear
limpidness
Sentence:  The ace reporter's writing was both economical and limpid.
Similar Words:  lucid, pellucid

Thursday, May 31, 2007

shackle (v)  restrain with a metal device
Sentence:  The guards shackled the prisoner and took him away.
Similar Words:  fetter

Return to Today's Word of the Day Page
Intensive Vocab™ is a revolutionary online program that enables you to learn 2400 vocabulary words through fully interactive and customizable quizzes.... the most effective vocabulary builder yet.  Intensive Vocab™ is fun, easy and free!

About Us   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy © 2007 Intensive Vocab LLC. All Rights Reserved.