Intensive Vocab Register  |  Sign In  |  Help  
Spacer Left Menu Border Right Menu Border Left Menu Border Right Menu Border Left Menu Border Right Menu Border  
 

Word Of The Day Archives - March 2008

Saturday, March 1, 2008

inundate (v)  flood
inundation
Sentence:  When the dam broke, our town was inundated.
Similar Words:  deluge, torrent

Sunday, March 2, 2008

meager (adj)  scanty, feeble
meagerness
Sentence:  The harvests on my farm were meager, despite the rich soil and ample rain.
Similar Words:  inadequate, deficient

Monday, March 3, 2008

clairvoyant (adj)  having supernatural senses
clairvoyance
Sentence:  The woman across the street claimed to be a mystic with clairvoyant powers.
Similar Words:  supernatural

Tuesday, March 4, 2008

naive (adj)  guileless, lacking experience
naivete
Sentence:  I yearn for the naive, uncomplicated delights of childhood.
Similar Words:  gullible

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

winnow (v)  separate out
Sentence:  Farmers must winnow the wheat from the chaff before taking the wheat to the mill.
Similar Words:  sift, distinguish

Thursday, March 6, 2008

quack (n)  fake doctor
Sentence:  He said he was a doctor, but he was nothing but a quack.
Similar Words:  charlatan

Friday, March 7, 2008

herald (v)  announce
Sentence:  As soon as the verdict was in, the lawyers heralded the good news to everyone involved in the case
Similar Words:  proclaim, blazon

Saturday, March 8, 2008

apprise (v)  notify
Sentence:  Why didn't you apprise us of the problem before now?
Similar Words:  inform

Sunday, March 9, 2008

reprimand (v)  sharply criticize
Sentence:  Please don't reprimand my child; I will discipline him myself.
Similar Words:  rebuke, admonish, reprove, reproach,

Monday, March 10, 2008

charisma (n)  charm
charismatic
Sentence:  The politician's charisma will win him many elections, even if his voting record does not.
Similar Words:  magnetism

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

oblique (adj)  indirect
obliqueness
Sentence:  Did you notice the oblique, mysterious, reference to Shakespeare in the book?
Similar Words:  sideways, sloped

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

ribald (adj)  indecent
ribaldry
Sentence:  The act's ribald display of humor was inappropriate for a middle school.
Similar Words:  obscene

Thursday, March 13, 2008

deviation (n)  departure from normal
deviate
Sentence:  The corporate executive admonished all employees to accept no deviations from standard company procedures.
Similar Words:  anomaly, aberration

Friday, March 14, 2008

repudiate (v)  reject
repudiation
Sentence:  The new minister repudiated earthly vices and tried to live by the highest morals.
Similar Words:  disown, deny

Saturday, March 15, 2008

rabid (adj)  fanatical
rabidness
Sentence:  Rabid fans of Harry Potter nearly knocked me down trying to reach the first copies of the new book in the store.
Similar Words:  frenzied, maniacal

Sunday, March 16, 2008

snide (adj)  expressive of contempt
Sentence:  My former friend's snide, hurtful comment brought a tear to my eye.
Similar Words:  scornful, contemptuous

Monday, March 17, 2008

mordant (adj)  stinging
mordancy
Sentence:  The critic's caustic, mordant book review brought the young writer to tears.
Similar Words:  caustic

Tuesday, March 18, 2008

resentment (n)  angry indignation
resent
Sentence:  The candidate felt resentment at the insult he received during the debate.
Similar Words:  bitterness, rancor, enmity, hostility, animus, antagonism; acrimony

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

intermittent (adj)  on-and-off
intermittence
Sentence:  The intermittent cries from the back of the room disrupted the solemn promotion ceremony.
Similar Words:  fitful, sporadic

Thursday, March 20, 2008

oracular (adj)  foretelling
oracle
Sentence:  The secretary of state's prediction of trouble in South Asia proved to be oracular when war broke out a week later.
Similar Words:  prophetic

Friday, March 21, 2008

sundry (adj)  various
Sentence:  We don't need to make any major purchases, but we do need a few sundry items for the kitchen.
Similar Words:  multifarious

Saturday, March 22, 2008

impugn (v)  attack, challenge
Sentence:  How dare you impugn my integrity!
Similar Words:  assail

Sunday, March 23, 2008

malapropism (n)  egregious misuse of a word
malapropian
Sentence:  Some celebrities are more famous for their malapropisms than for their wisdom.

Monday, March 24, 2008

cryptic (adj)  unclear, puzzling
crypticness
Sentence:  I received a cryptic message in my friend's usual code.
Similar Words:  mystifying, secret

Tuesday, March 25, 2008

belie (v)  show to be false
Sentence:  The embezzler's nervous body language belied her otherwise believable testimony.
Similar Words:  refute, disprove, repudiate

Wednesday, March 26, 2008

lackey (n)  servile follower
Sentence:  The arrogant CEO expected me to be his lackey, but I quit the job instead.
Similar Words:  sycophant, toady

Thursday, March 27, 2008

facetious (adj)  witty, unserious
facetiousness
Sentence:  Are you being facetious or did you mean what you said?
Similar Words:  jesting, irreverent

Friday, March 28, 2008

charlatan (n)  fraud, faker
charlatanic, charlatanism
Sentence:  As an economist, my professor was nothing but a charlatan.
Similar Words:  quack

Saturday, March 29, 2008

affectation (n)  show, ruse
Sentence:  My sister's constant affectations have annoyed me for my whole life.
Similar Words:  airs

Sunday, March 30, 2008

expedite (v)  speed up
expedition
Sentence:  What can we do to expedite our mission? It is proceeding too slowly.
Similar Words:  hasten

Monday, March 31, 2008

eradicate (v)  wipe out
eradication
Sentence:  Polio was eradicated from the United States in the 1950s.
Similar Words:  extirpate, efface

Return to Today's Word of the Day Page
Intensive Vocab™ is a revolutionary online program that enables you to learn 2400 vocabulary words through fully interactive and customizable quizzes.... the most effective vocabulary builder yet.  Intensive Vocab™ is fun, easy and free!

About Us   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Advertise © 2007 Intensive Vocab LLC. All Rights Reserved.