Intensive Vocab Register  |  Sign In  |  Help  
Spacer Home Left Menu Border Home Right Menu Border Vocab Start Page Left Menu Border Vocab Start Page Right Menu Border Word Of The Day Left Menu Border Word Of The Day Right Menu Border  
 

Word Of The Day Archives - June 2007

Friday, June 1, 2007

bogus (adj)  fake
Sentence:  Sadly for the kids, the $100 bill they had found turned out to be bogus.
Similar Words:  counterfeit, sham

Saturday, June 2, 2007

multifarious (adj)  of great variety
multifariousness
Sentence:  Many famous entertainers can exhibit a multifarious display of talent -- singing, acting, dancing, and more.
Similar Words:  diverse

Sunday, June 3, 2007

domineering (adj)  controlling arbitrarily
Sentence:  The woman's domineering attitude drove away friends who did not want to be told what to do.
Similar Words:  imperious, authoritarian, overbearing, dictatorial

Monday, June 4, 2007

squander (v)  waste
Sentence:  The prodigal heir managed to squander a fortune in only a few years.
Similar Words:  dissipate

Tuesday, June 5, 2007

laity (n)  persons not part of church hierarchy
lay
Sentence:  The laity, not the minister, controlled our church.
Similar Words:  congregation

Wednesday, June 6, 2007

portend (v)  foretell
portent, portentous
Sentence:  The king's death portended a deep depression in the country.
Similar Words:  presage, augur

Thursday, June 7, 2007

proficient (adj)  able
proficiency
Sentence:  Has practice made you proficient at golf?
Similar Words:  skilled

Friday, June 8, 2007

wary (adj)  watchful
wariness
Sentence:  Are you keeping a wary eye on the brewing trouble?
Similar Words:  careful, vigilant

Saturday, June 9, 2007

diversion (n)  amusement
divert
Sentence:  When you get home from work in the evening, what are your favorite diversions?
Similar Words:  entertainment

Sunday, June 10, 2007

efficacy (n)  effectiveness
efficacious
Sentence:  The efficacy of the new drug is doubtful; the latest clinical trials have been disappointing.
Similar Words:  usefulness

Monday, June 11, 2007

deference (n)  respect
deferential
Sentence:  Always show deference to your teachers; they deserve respect.
Similar Words:  submission, yielding

Tuesday, June 12, 2007

purvey (v)  furnish food
purveyance
Sentence:  My company purveys fresh fish and meat to restaurants.
Similar Words:  provision

Wednesday, June 13, 2007

dint (n)  force
Sentence:  By sheer dint of his personality, the activist persuaded the town to end its unfair tax policies.
Similar Words:  means

Thursday, June 14, 2007

divulge (v)  make known
divulgence
Sentence:  Please do not divulge to anyone the secrets that I have told you.
Similar Words:  reveal, disclose, expose

Friday, June 15, 2007

abominable (adj)  detestable
abominableness
Sentence:  The Needle's abominable career as an assassin lasted almost 20 years.
Similar Words:  loathsome

Saturday, June 16, 2007

lassitude (n)  sluggishness
Sentence:  Never approach a job with lassitude; you will endanger your future.
Similar Words:  languor, weariness, lethargy, listlessness, torpor

Sunday, June 17, 2007

facilitate (v)  make easier
facilitation
Sentence:  The new commerce treaty with Europe facilitated the free flow of goods.
Similar Words:  assist, simplify

Monday, June 18, 2007

toady (n)  fawning flatterer
Sentence:  If you want to earn the disrespect of your colleagues, then act like a toady around your boss.
Similar Words:  lackey, sycophant

Tuesday, June 19, 2007

cynical (adj)  believing the worst in others
cynic, cynicism
Sentence:  I had to listen to a coldly cynical speech by a politician I once respected.
Similar Words:  misanthropic

Wednesday, June 20, 2007

usurp (v)  seize
usurpation
Sentence:  Democracies must stop tyrants from usurping the power of the voters.
Similar Words:  appropriate, arrogate

Thursday, June 21, 2007

elusive (adj)  hard to catch
elusiveness
Sentence:  We spotted the robber several times, but he was too elusive to be caught.
Similar Words:  slippery

Friday, June 22, 2007

assert (v)  state firmly
assertion
Sentence:  Criminal defendants are entitled to assert their right not to incriminate themselves.
Similar Words:  aver

Saturday, June 23, 2007

rancid (adj)  rotten
rancidness
Sentence:  A rancid odor from the trash can overwhelmed our kitchen.
Similar Words:  rank, putrid, fetid

Sunday, June 24, 2007

reconcile (v)  settle, resolve
reconciliation
Sentence:  Are you finally reconciled to your mother's nosiness, or are you still fighting with her about it?
Similar Words:  accept, resign

Monday, June 25, 2007

funereal (adj)  mournful; solemn
Sentence:  The parade had a funereal air to it because of the recent loss of the parade marshal.
Similar Words:  grave, melancholy

Tuesday, June 26, 2007

cumulative (adj)  growing by additions
cumulativeness
Sentence:  The child showed signs of serious depression as the cumulative effect of years of abuse.

Wednesday, June 27, 2007

repast (n)  meal
Sentence:  Are you hungry enough for our usual noon repast?
Similar Words:  dinner, feast

Thursday, June 28, 2007

credulous (adj)  gullible
credulousness
Sentence:  If I had not been so credulous, I would have smelled a rat.
Similar Words:  na?ve

Friday, June 29, 2007

dictatorial (adj)  relating to dictatorship
dictator
Sentence:  The dictatorial teacher could not tolerate any dissent in the classroom.
Similar Words:  imperious, authoritarian, overbearing

Saturday, June 30, 2007

lilt (n)  rhythmic manner of speaking
Sentence:  My teacher's soft lilt calmed the whole class.
Similar Words:  inflection

Return to Today's Word of the Day Page
Intensive Vocab™ is a revolutionary online program that enables you to learn 2400 vocabulary words through fully interactive and customizable quizzes.... the most effective vocabulary builder yet.  Intensive Vocab™ is fun, easy and free!

About Us   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy © 2007 Intensive Vocab LLC. All Rights Reserved.