Intensive Vocab Register  |  Sign In  |  Help  
Spacer Left Menu Border Right Menu Border Left Menu Border Right Menu Border Left Menu Border Right Menu Border  
 

Word Of The Day Archives - July 2008

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

waif (n)  homeless child
Sentence:  Growing up as a waif on the streets of New York, the future mayor developed a strong habit of self-reliance before he was 10 years old.
Similar Words:  orphan

Wednesday, July 2, 2008

misanthrope (n)  hater of mankind
misanthropic
Sentence:  Can a dedicated misanthrope ever come to love people again?

Thursday, July 3, 2008

qualm (n)  feeling of unease
Sentence:  Didn't you have any qualms about breaking your engagement?
Similar Words:  misgiving, doubt

Friday, July 4, 2008

plenary (adj)  absolute
Sentence:  The city council has plenary authority to run the city; the mayor has little real power.
Similar Words:  unqualified, entire

Saturday, July 5, 2008

empathy (n)  understanding of another
empathetic
Sentence:  I have empathy for any soloist who has ever forgotten the words.
Similar Words:  compassion

Sunday, July 6, 2008

animus (n)  ill will
Sentence:  Despite his low pay and poor working conditions, my husband harbored no animus toward his employer.
Similar Words:  animosity, hostility, rancor, antagonism, enmity, resentment, acrimony

Monday, July 7, 2008

propagate (v)  cause to multiply
propagation
Sentence:  The veteran gardener was an expert at propagating roses in our hostile climate.
Similar Words:  breed

Tuesday, July 8, 2008

desiccated (adj)  dried out
desiccate
Sentence:  When camping, we carry desiccated meals and find water along the way for cooking them.
Similar Words:  parched, dehydrated

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

callous (adj)  hardened, unfeeling
callousness
Sentence:  The hardened criminal demonstrated a callous disregard for human life.
Similar Words:  insensitive

Thursday, July 10, 2008

defy (v)  oppose with boldness
defiance
Sentence:  The ship captain defied the naval blockade by sailing directly toward the harbor.
Similar Words:  challenge, dare

Friday, July 11, 2008

denigrate (v)  belittle
denigration
Sentence:  Don't denigrate the players; they did their best.
Similar Words:  disparage, decry, deprecate, besmirch

Saturday, July 12, 2008

hapless (adj)  luckless
haplessness
Sentence:  Earnest but hapless, the young boy could do nothing right.
Similar Words:  jinxed, cursed

Sunday, July 13, 2008

lout (n)  clumsy, stupid person
Sentence:  As a young man, my brother was scorned as a lout by his family, but as he matured he earned the respect of all of us.
Similar Words:  oaf, dolt

Monday, July 14, 2008

turbulent (adj)  violently agitated
turbulence
Sentence:  The turbulent seas shook even the giant cruise liner.
Similar Words:  tumultuous

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

stipulate (v)  specify
stipulation
Sentence:  Did the contract stipulate your duties as vice president?
Similar Words:  designate, detail

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

adorn (v)  decorate
adornment
Sentence:  The actress adorned her ears with two-caret diamonds.
Similar Words:  embellish, beautify

Thursday, July 17, 2008

perfunctory (adj)  with little care
perfunctoriness
Sentence:  The weary actor's performance in the show was perfunctory at best; his heart just was not in it.
Similar Words:  thoughtless, negligent

Friday, July 18, 2008

unctuous (adj)  oily
unctuousness
Sentence:  I did not trust the unctuous, smooth-talking salesman.
Similar Words:  insincere, smug

Saturday, July 19, 2008

listless (adj)  sluggish
listlessness
Sentence:  Listless and inattentive from an all-nighter at the office, I nearly slept through the opera.
Similar Words:  weary, lethargic, languid, torpid

Sunday, July 20, 2008

parley (n)  discussion
Sentence:  To settle the differences between the two opposing camps, the mayor scheduled a formal parley in the town hall.
Similar Words:  conference

Monday, July 21, 2008

attenuate (v)  make thin; weaken
tenuous
Sentence:  Do not attenuate the girder further; it will collapse.
Similar Words:  debilitate, enfeeble

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

allegiance (n)  loyalty to country
Sentence:  Did the turncoat ever demonstrate allegiance to his native land?
Similar Words:  fidelity, fealty

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

obsolete (adj)  no longer useful
obsolescence
Sentence:  Detroit once designed cars to become obsolete within only a few years.
Similar Words:  outmoded, antiquated

Thursday, July 24, 2008

stanch (v)  stop a flow
Sentence:  With clamps and stitches, the doctor finally stanched the victim's bleeding.
Similar Words:  check, allay

Friday, July 25, 2008

archaic (adj)  antiquated
Sentence:  For many years, Russia's archaic commercial laws proved to be a hindrance to economic growth.
Similar Words:  anachronistic, outmoded

Saturday, July 26, 2008

contrite (adj)  truly sorry
contrition
Sentence:  Was the teenager contrite for all the troubles he had caused?
Similar Words:  regretful

Sunday, July 27, 2008

grizzled (adj)  graying
Sentence:  Grizzled and stooped, the old veteran marched solemnly in the Memorial Day parade.
Similar Words:  old

Monday, July 28, 2008

patronize (v)  talk down to
patronization
Sentence:  Don't patronize me; I don't need your sympathy or your support.
Similar Words:  condescend

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

insolent (adj)  rude
insolence
Sentence:  You insolent brat! Why don't you learn some respect?
Similar Words:  impertinent

Wednesday, July 30, 2008

menace (v)  threaten
Sentence:  Loss of earth's ozone layer is a menace to humans and animals alike.
Similar Words:  endanger

Thursday, July 31, 2008

effrontery (n)  brazen boldness
Sentence:  The new employee's effrontery in demanding a raise shocked the whole staff.
Similar Words:  arrogance, contemptuousness

Return to Today's Word of the Day Page
Intensive Vocab™ is a revolutionary online program that enables you to learn 2400 vocabulary words through fully interactive and customizable quizzes.... the most effective vocabulary builder yet.  Intensive Vocab™ is fun, easy and free!

About Us   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Advertise © 2007 Intensive Vocab LLC. All Rights Reserved.