Intensive Vocab Register  |  Sign In  |  Help  
Spacer Home Left Menu Border Home Right Menu Border Vocab Start Page Left Menu Border Vocab Start Page Right Menu Border Word Of The Day Left Menu Border Word Of The Day Right Menu Border  
 

Word Of The Day Archives - July 2007

Sunday, July 1, 2007

gaffe (n)  social blunder
Sentence:  Our state's governor never recovered politically from his well-publicized gaffe during a speech five years ago.
Similar Words:  faux pas

Monday, July 2, 2007

versatile (adj)  multi-functioning
versatility
Sentence:  The versatile young man excelled at all he tried.
Similar Words:  protean

Tuesday, July 3, 2007

caustic (adj)  burning, stinging
causticity
Sentence:  The critic's unnecessarily caustic remark inflamed his opponents.
Similar Words:  trenchant, sarcastic

Wednesday, July 4, 2007

abstention (n)  self-denial
abstain
Sentence:  Abstention from alcohol is mandatory for a designated driver.
Similar Words:  abstinence, forbearance

Thursday, July 5, 2007

illicit (adj)  illegal
illicitness
Sentence:  The teenagers were engaged in illicit drinking at the party.
Similar Words:  forbidden, improper

Friday, July 6, 2007

jaded (adj)  dulled, worn-out
Sentence:  To my jaded friend who had seen combat in two wars, deadly auto accidents were no concern.
Similar Words:  enervated, depleted

Saturday, July 7, 2007

gauche (adj)  tactless
gaucherie
Sentence:  My rude brother was too gauche even to recognize that he had deeply offended the host.
Similar Words:  rude, boorish

Sunday, July 8, 2007

unrequited (adj)  not reciprocated
Sentence:  It can take a long time for a teenage girl to get over her first unrequited love.
Similar Words:  unanswered

Monday, July 9, 2007

truculent (adj)  violent, scathing
truculence
Sentence:  A truculent tirade against our project persuaded the county board to reject it.
Similar Words:  pugnacious

Tuesday, July 10, 2007

transcend (v)  rise above
transcendent
Sentence:  The scholar transcended even his own strict standards of excellence
Similar Words:  surpass

Wednesday, July 11, 2007

proliferate (v)  grow rapidly
proliferation
Sentence:  Most countries of the world hope that nuclear weapons will no longer proliferate around the globe.
Similar Words:  multiply

Thursday, July 12, 2007

fiat (n)  command
Sentence:  The chief executive accomplished the corporate reorganization overnight by executive fiat.
Similar Words:  edict, order

Friday, July 13, 2007

coalesce (v)  come together
coalition
Sentence:  The once-independent patriots coalesced into an effective army.
Similar Words:  gel, form

Saturday, July 14, 2007

reticent (adj)  shy, quiet
reticence
Sentence:  I was reticent to divulge the information that had been given to me in confidence.
Similar Words:  timid, fearful

Sunday, July 15, 2007

forage (n)  feed for animals
Sentence:  During the harsh winter, we distributed forage for the deer.
Similar Words:  fodder

Monday, July 16, 2007

provident (adj)  economical
providence
Sentence:  If you were provident, you would be investing an individual retirement account.
Similar Words:  frugal

Tuesday, July 17, 2007

parsimonious (adj)  excessively frugal
parsimony
Sentence:  Born in the depression, my mother was naturally parsimonious; she proudly displayed the first dollar she ever earned.
Similar Words:  cheap, stingy

Wednesday, July 18, 2007

reprieve (n)  respite from punishment
Sentence:  The lawyer sought an eleventh-hour reprieve in his client's execution.
Similar Words:  suspension

Thursday, July 19, 2007

putrefy (v)  rot
putrefaction
Sentence:  The animal carcass putrefied in the bright sun.
Similar Words:  decay

Friday, July 20, 2007

pastoral (adj)  rural
Sentence:  The young artist painted pastoral scenes reminiscent of the masters.
Similar Words:  rustic, idyllic

Saturday, July 21, 2007

inferno (n)  hellish place
Sentence:  The battle turned into an inferno of destruction.
Similar Words:  conflagration

Sunday, July 22, 2007

dexterous (adj)  skilled with hands
dexterity
Sentence:  Do you think you are dexterous enough to build a ship in a bottle?
Similar Words:  adroit, nimble

Monday, July 23, 2007

embroil (v)  involve
Sentence:  Did your cousin embroil you in his family feud?
Similar Words:  entangle

Tuesday, July 24, 2007

stolid (adj)  emotionless
stolidness
Sentence:  The accused molester remained stolid through his whole trial.
Similar Words:  impassive

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

averse (adj)  unwilling
aversion
Sentence:  Why are you averse to going to the movies tonight?
Similar Words:  disinclined, antipathetic

Thursday, July 26, 2007

forbear (v)  hold back
forbearance
Sentence:  Because of the tough times, the bank decided to forbear in foreclosing on our farm.
Similar Words:  refrain

Friday, July 27, 2007

arbitrator (n)  negotiator
arbitrate
Sentence:  Did the arbitrator work out a settlement between the feuding parties?
Similar Words:  mediator

Saturday, July 28, 2007

diligent (adj)  persistent
diligence
Sentence:  Jack was hopelessly lazy, but his brother was exceptionally diligent.
Similar Words:  assiduous, attentive, sedulous

Sunday, July 29, 2007

distend (v)  swell
distention
Sentence:  The pictures of the starving children with their distended bellies shocked the whole country.
Similar Words:  expand, bloat

Monday, July 30, 2007

countervail (v)  use equal force against
countervailing
Sentence:  Countervailing tariffs are applied to offset foreign price advantages.
Similar Words:  offset

Tuesday, July 31, 2007

obdurate (adj)  stubborn
obdurateness
Sentence:  Ever obdurate, the rigid instructor would not make even the slightest exception from his lifelong training methods.
Similar Words:  intransigent, obstinate, intractable

Return to Today's Word of the Day Page
Intensive Vocab™ is a revolutionary online program that enables you to learn 2400 vocabulary words through fully interactive and customizable quizzes.... the most effective vocabulary builder yet.  Intensive Vocab™ is fun, easy and free!

About Us   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy © 2007 Intensive Vocab LLC. All Rights Reserved.